peasquared

my life in pictures and words

Halloween in February

I know what you’re all thinking.  Halloween in February?  Eight and a half months ahead Three and a half months behind is more of where I’m going with this.

2011 brought so many more actually brought costumed children, and more than three, to our front door for some Trick’o’Treating.

Since we’ve been married, we’ve never had a good Halloween where we passed out bags and bags of candy. Here’s a breakdown of what’s happened on Halloween since we’ve been married. Just to give you an idea.

  • 2005 – lived in an apartment complex; don’t even remember what we did, I think we got home late from work
  • 2006 – lived in a huge apartment complex with 6 buildings that had three floors each and about 30 apartments on each floor; 2 bags of candy:0 trick’o’treaters
  • 2007 – lived at my parents’ house; I think we just gave candy away there. I don’t really count this year since we weren’t on our own
  • 2008 – first year in AL, lived on base; we were informed that there are several t’o’t’s and that we should stock up on candy which is exactly what I did; 4 bags of candy:3 trick’o’treaters – MAJOR fail!! You can read more about it here
  • 2009 – lived on base; we got invited to a Halloween party so we didn’t plan on passing out candy. The night before Halloween, I got super sick and stayed home while Paul went to party-party (I made him go otherwise he would have just stayed home with me) and the doorbell rang….ONCE! With the porch light off. Glad I didn’t buy any candy that year.
  • 2010 – moved up to an apartment complex in Prattville with 25 buildings each building holding 4 apartments; 2 bags of candy: 1 trick’o’treater x2. Yea, what’s up with the x2 you ask? Halloween was on Sunday so AL had all trick’o’treating done on Saturday. One kid came up on a scooter and not even in a costume on Saturday AND THEN AGAIN on Sunday!

So that’s our history of Halloweens. Nothing exciting.

A few days before Halloween, I found out that the city set a timeframe for trick or treating; 6 pm – 8 pm. I don’t remember that being an issue when I was younger so I thought that it was worth mentioning.

Anyways, a few minutes before 6 I saw a few kids gathering up at some our neighbors’ houses. So I flipped the porch light on, which is usually NEVER on, and waited for the doorbell to ring. But it was 10 after 6 and our doorbell had not yet rung once. Paul looked outside and noticed the kids just walking by our house. He suggested that I sit outside so they’d know that we had candy for them too.

So I took my candy bowl and my camera and sat at our porch steps. A few kids starting walking up and asking for candy while I was asking if I could take pictures of them. They were just so cute!

These are the first trick’o’treaters!!!
Photobucket

While waiting for more kids to show up, I noticed that my neighbors were all outside too.
Photobucket

I thought it was so strange. The thrill of trick’or’treating is walking up to the door and ringing the doorbell, waiting to see if the homeowner was going to scare us or if they were going to hand us a bunch of candy or if they were going to let us choose what candy we wanted. Nope, not here. You’re just out there handing out candy.
Photobucket

But I guess it is much better than having to hear that darn door bell ringing and opening the door every two minutes.

Here are some of my favorites of the night.

These kids got into character.  They were so cute!
Photobucket

This girl had an awesome costume!  When I put the candy in her bag (jar), she looked down and said, “Wow!  A new specimen for me to dissect.”
Photobucket

I just love this little girls’ smile!!
Photobucket

This pirate was all smiles too!!
Photobucket

My nephew, Bailen, would probably love to have this as a costume one year.  Loved all the nerf stuff!!!
Photobucket

This guy and his wife were “bacon and eggs”.  I didn’t get to see his “eggs” but he very kindly let me take a picture of his “bacon” costume.  This is for you, bro!!  Maybe you can convince Sheri to be eggs!!!
Photobucket

And so starts the DC Comics!!  Green Lantern and Wonder Woman!Photobucket

Followed by Batman and Supergirl!Photobucket

Captain America was so cute he had to get his own shot!!Photobucket

And!!  They even turned their wagon into the BATMOBILE!!!!
Photobucket

This little boy was so cute!  He came up with his grandma and started to put candy into his pumpkin.  When he reached out for his fourth one, his grandma apologized and when I told her it was okay she’d laughed and stated that his mom would get upset with her.  It was all good!
Photobucket

Two mexicans!!  They were pretty hilarious!!  Check out those beards!!!!
Photobucket

Don’t you just LOVE the look on his face!!!!!  He was so darn cute and I loved his box car costume!!!  That flash in the top left is his mom taking pictures of him trick’o’treating.  Sorry kid!!  I feel your pain!!!  Well, not really.  But thanks for letting me take a pic of your mug!!!
Photobucket

This little girl was so cute.  It’s kinda hard to see her, I know, but it was the only picture I had.  She was sooo little!!!!
Photobucket

I know you’re probably all tired of reading by now so I’ll just end it here. Hopefully I’ll be all caught up and better at posting so that months don’t go by before I actually get them up. =)

Thanks for reading!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Halloween in February

  1. I still don’t understand. Is this a mid-west idea to have halloween in February? Isn’t it typically colder in February than November? I like the bacon and egg idea :-)

Leave a Reply

