peasquared

my life in pictures and words

yel-low in thar!

I gave you a sneak peek in my InstaFriday post a few weeks ago. But here is the story behind the madness.

I was having lunch with a friend and we were talking about house projects, painting, and her pantry. Her young boys are at that age and height where they can open the pantry door whenever they feel like it which is not a good thing for her. I had mentioned using the locking mechanisim that you can attach to the top of the door since there is no way they would be able to reach the top. But she didn’t want to have something that would permanently attach to the wall or door. I was all out of ideas so we moved on to the next topic.

But that got me thinking about my pantry. No, we don’t have children to have to worry about getting into the pantry. But the way my brain works got me to thinking that since my pantry wasn’t as full as it’d been in a while I should finally get everything taken out, cleaned up, and painted. So when I got home, that’s exactly what I did.

I hadn’t planned it.

I hadn’t prepared for it.

It just happened. It was a “spur of the moment” thing that came to me while talking with my friend.

But I am so glad it did. Because…well, you’ll see. =)

This is at the beginning, before I emptied the pantry. Can you see the white walls? Not bad, by any means, but very dirty and scuffed up. And just darn plain.
Photobucket

After I emptied the shelves and before I took them out. The layover effect I put on here makes it hard to see how white the walls actually are and you still can’t see any of the scuff marks. I didn’t take any pictures of them. I didn’t even think about it until now. Oh well. But here it is empty. All alone.
Photobucket

This is after painting one wall. Do you like my Joby GorillaTorch? It’s actually Paul’s, but it has come in very handy for me for when I’m working on projects where there is no light available.
Photobucket

At this point, I didn’t think that I’d have enough paint in my sample size so I took a quick break and headed over to Lowe’s to pick up another sample size which then gave me more than enough for the whole “room”.

It was a good thing that I went to pick up another jar because the sides of the walls were the scuffi-est. I first started going over just the portions that were all scuffy and then I painted the whole space over again. I think I ended up giving a few several spots four or five coats just to cover up the marks.

The painting is completed!!
Photobucket

I even painted on the inside of the top. The white is the ceiling and the blue is painter’s tape.
Photobucket

After I finished painting, I ate a quick dinner and then went to put the shelves back in. Oh before I put them back I took a rag to them because some of the wires were still a bit sticky. When we first moved in here, most of the shelves were sticky and gross. I had to clean them before I could fill it. YUCK!! So I thought since they’re out I might as well give them a good deep cleaning since I’m not sure when I’ll get to them again. =)
Photobucket

I took some closer pictures for you to see before I put everything back.
Photobucket

Photobucket

And where did all the food go? Onto my table. Some went onto the counter but most of it was on my table.
Photobucket

Finally! A restocked pantry!!
Photobucket

And one last one…with me trying to be “creative” with my shot. Haha.
Photobucket

Well, there you have it. My “spur of the moment” project that was super easy and fun. And fairly quick. All in all it took about four hours. I’m so excited for it and now everytime I open the door I get giddy. Sometimes I just stand there and admire the yellow that is inside. It’s just so festive! If I can’t have the yellow in my kitchen, then gosh darn it I’ll have it somewhere close by!

Thanks for reading!

(all photos have been edited by Pixlr.com)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “yel-low in thar!

  1. Pingback: Faucet that! « peasquared

  2. Pingback: pantry update | peasquared

Leave a Reply

