peasquared

my life in pictures and words

Hanging Bikes

We have a lot of wall space in our garage and lots of things to store in there. Even more so now that we’ve started purchasing more lawn tools.

So when I was at Home Depot last week picking up some more lawn tools, I picked up some wall hooks strong enough to carry bicycles. I thought about waiting for Paul to get home so he could help me get the bikes up but then I changed my mind and decided to surprise him.

Here’s where we were keeping/”hiding” the bikes. Behind my car.
Photobucket

And here is where, I decided, to hang them. Above Paul’s car.
Photobucket

I took my handy dandy stud finder and found some studs, drilled the holes, and screwed the hooks into the wall.

I hung Paul’s bike first. It was hard to get it up on the hooks because the bike was heavy and the hooks were so high. But I stood on my ladder and pulled/dragged the bike up. It took me about 10 minutes but then I got it up and on the hooks.
Photobucket

Then I hung my bike. This one was easier to hang since I’d just hung Paul’s and had some experience with it. =) And also because the hooks were lower and the bike was not as heavy.
Photobucket

Here is a close-up of the bikes completely hung.
Photobucket

And a close-up of the hooks. Just cause I know you’re all dying to see them!! =)
Photobucket

Now that they’re up on the wall, we have some open space in the little nook behind my car. I’m not quite sure what we’re going to put there but before we decide we’re going to be pulling down the wire shelves and replacing them with wood shelves. So one project at a time.

Hope you had a great weekend!! Happy Monday!!

And thanks for reading!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Hanging Bikes

  1. great job! organizing the garage is definitely on my to-do list for the summer. thanks for motivating me some more!

Leave a Reply

