peasquared

my life in pictures and words

Faucet this!

I had purchased this faucet sometime in November 2011, hoping that I could get my bro-D to help me install it when he was here for Christmas. Unfortunately, our time together went by so fast that I didn’t get a chance to ask him for his assistance. The box sat in the cabinent until mid-March when I decided that enough time had passed and I should get on with it myself.

Home Depot was offering a class on installing bathroom faucets which I attended and was the only student. It was great! I got to ask all the questions I had without feeling stupid. Even though I went to the class and learned all that I could, I still was a bit hesitant and put it off for a few weeks.

I even gave you a sneek peek in an instafriday the week that I went to Home Depot for the lesson.Ā  But as I said, I decided I should just get on with it.

Here’s what I started out with. Builders grade bathroom faucet. Yuck!
Photobucket

Drain.
Photobucket

Faucet connector and bolts.
Photobucket

I un-bolted the connector and bolts to remove the faucet. It was a little gross underneath the faucet so I cleaned it up and this is what I was left with.
100_4893

And a close-up because that’s how I do it.
Photobucket

Then I started on removing the drain. OH, BOY! This was hard!
Photobucket

And GROSS! Double, even TRIPLE GROSS!!
Photobucket

It took a little while for me to get the drain off but when I did, I felt like a champ! And then I felt like puking because of all the grody stuff that came out with it.
Photobucket

And…another close-up fo ya!
Photobucket

I cleaned the drain hole up and then got started on putting everything back together.

(Sometime between removing the old drain body and installing the flange, I installed the new faucet and faucet connectors. And I forgot to take pictures of it so you’ll have to just wait to see the finished photos.)

Here is the new flange prepped with some DAP.
Photobucket

I got the flange in place and then started installing the drain body.
Photobucket

After the drain body came the stopper and the ball rod.

Here is a picture of the whole portion underneath the sink completely installed.
Photobucket

And another point of view, which also shows the connector and bolts to the faucet.
Photobucket

The new faucet in all its glory!!
Photobucket

And, of course, another close-up. =)
Photobucket

That’s it! We checked for leaks and found none.

Now all I have to do is install the two in our bathroom and the one in the downstairs bathroom.

And when I do, I’ll be sharing that experience with you.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Faucet this!

  1. Pingback: Faucet that! « peasquared

  2. Pingback: Are you ready to be floor-ed? « peasquared

Leave a Reply

