peasquared

my life in pictures and words

241 tote aka Pinspiration numero – cincuenta y siete

While perusing pinterest I noticed this really cute bag.  I found that it was a Noodlehead pattern called the 241 Tote.

Paul and I were going on a cruise soon and I thought this would be a good bag to carry the essentials needed when we were docked. I taped the pattern together and cut out the pieces .  When I went to the fabric store I was drawn to the green/yellow batik print.  I had wanted something bright and colorful.  The yellow just called out to me.
20140723_180454 - Copy

This was my first time working with pieces that were not just straight edges.  I traced the pattern onto the fabric and interfacing and then cut them out.  It was so tedious.  I vowed to never cut pieces that were not a straight edge.  But then I made this nightgown and realized that it’s not as bad as it was that first time and fell in love.

It was also my first time sewing a curve like this.  I looked up a bunch of reviews on the tote so I could get some opinions on how to sew this together.  Also, I was facetiming with my mom and niece.
20140724_152447 - Copy

So I got the shell completed.  I love how all the colors play off each other.The yellows and pinks.
20140724_205612 - Copy

Sorry about the blurry picture.  This was the best I had and I wanted to at least show the tote in full use.
20140726_114017 - Copy

I really liked the way it turned out and I totally plan on making more.  However, I would probably make it about 15% bigger.  This was definitely a good size for the cruise but for everyday I would need it bigger.  I’m still in love with these colors too.  They’re just so bright and cheery.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “241 tote aka Pinspiration numero – cincuenta y siete

  1. Priscilla on said:

    So cute. Love your colors! Another display of your great sewing talents, Tricia.

Leave a Reply

