peasquared

my life in pictures and words

roam

In December 2015, my parents had come out a few days to visit before my dad had a business meeting at the strip.  While we were driving around I saw that my dad was carrying all his glasses, I think he has three different ones each with a case, in a plastic bag. So I asked him if he wanted something more sturdy for them.  I had seen a photo somewhere before a zipper bag with a handle on the front side rather than coming up from the sides. I know it sounds confusing but you’ll see what I’m talking about in a bit.

So I had some leftover fabric from his Christmas gift to make this zipper bag for his birthday.  It’s called Roam from Hawthorne Threads.  It’s one of their in-house prints that is digitally printed.  It’s gorgeous!

Oops..before I get ahead of myself, here is his Christmas gift.  He wanted a trash bag for his car. I used Pellon Matte Vinyl Fuse to make it water-resistant and easily wipeable.  img_20151107_163338

He’s always liked horses but recently he’s said that he also likes buffalo’s so that’s why I went with this print.  I liked how the top looks like the sky with the buffalo roaming and the yellow strap is like the sun.  On the interior is the cloud print at top and the feathers you see above.
20160130_155611 - Copy

Here’s the zipper bag I was started talking about above. I put some scraps together to make this bag.  I ended up messing up a little.  I had imagined the feathers print to be next to each other on the left, however, when I was piecing it I didn’t plan correctly and ended up with the feathers on the left side of both sides.img_20151219_191432

You can’t really tell in the picture above but in the one below you can see that on the other side of the feathers it’s the blue roaming one.  Also, here’s what I was talking about the handle being on the front side rather than on the sides.
20160130_155640 - Copy

I didn’t measure any of his cases so it’s a good thing they fit well.  I actually had a lot of fun making this bag because it was the first piecing/topstitching pieces I’d ever done.  It was a little stressful because I didn’t want to mess up with topstitching but then I remembered that my dad would love it no matter what.  haha. So then I felt better and just went with it.  The stitching is probably the straightest I’d made thus far.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

