peasquared

my life in pictures and words

let’s go fishing aka pinterest numero – sesenta

I found this super cute toddler string backpack tutorial on Pinterest.  (I’ve since tried to link to it but the domain is no longer available.  I’m hoping that I can remember it enough to sort of re-write the tute so that I can come back to it later.)  Mamaurchin is the blog that has the tutorial if it comes back online.

Sorry for the blurry photos.

Start by finishing the edges so they don’t unravel in the future.  I believe the dimensions of these pieces are 11″x14″.
20160205_104233 - Copy

And here it is all finished.  I guess I forgot to take pictures in between.  I believe you iron on two 2 sqin pieces of interfacing at the bottom of both pieces.  This is to reinforce the grommets.
20160205_204353 - Copy

Before sewing the pieces together, measure and mark at 2″ and 1.25″ from the top. Press at 1.25″ mark.  This will help with the enclosures for the strings so that the raw edges are not exposed. Now sew the pieces RST with a 1/4″ SA stopping at the 2″ mark.  Sew the bottom edge as normal. Press SA on the sides all the way to the top.  Turn right side out and sew 0.75″ from the top which should match up with the 2″ mark.
20160205_204502 - Copy

These are the metal grommets that you use a hammer and grommet tools to close rather than the plastic ones that you clip together.  After turning right side out, use one of the grommets to mark where to cut.  Cut and install the grommet.  Repeat on the other side.
20160205_204401 - Copy

For the strings, I don’t know how much you need.  I usually just cut 2″ strips and fold in half, press, and then open and fold those two in half up to the first fold line, and press.  Sort of like how you make a double fold binding.  Then I topstitch down both sides and feed through until I get the desired length.  I’ve also made a bag with string and then burned the edges to close them.

I think that’s it.  I hope I didn’t leave anything out but if I did, please feel free to ask.

This is a pretty simple and fun drawstring bag to make.  The one I made with the strings was a Trick-O-Treat bag for my nephew.  I made it a bit bigger so he could fit lots and lots of candy in there.  So many options!!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

