peasquared

my life in pictures and words

Senna Dress

My extended family had plans to take photos with a color scheme of reds, pinks, purples, and blues.  Of course I didn’t have anything to wear so I looked through, Indie Sew, my go-to pattern shop, and found the Senna Dress.  I read the one review and was sold!senna-dress

I was worried about what kind of material to use which is why I had hesitated so much prior to going for it this time.  I liked that I had some Art Gallery Fabric knit, which is what Priscilla used, on hand and that the solid was just a plain jersey.

I went to Joann with my fabric in hand to find the perfect shade of solid pink knit.  I couldn’t find what I was looking for.  The only color I could find to match was white.  I DID NOT want to wear white.  I wanted a pink or purple, even a blue would have been fine.  Luckily there is a Hobby Lobby across the way from Joann that sells fabric.  And luckily they had THE EXACT color I was looking for!
20160625_150333 - Copy
I just LOVE the scrunchiness of the skirt!

I got home, put the fabric in the wash, and started taping and cutting out my pattern.  As soon as the pink was washed and dried, you bet I had everything all cut out and ready for sewing.
20160625_171311 - Copy
The neckband was sewn on different than I was used to but it worked well.  I just love how the neckband pops off the shirt.

Basically, you sew a skirt and a top and then attach them together and you have a dress.  The sleeve is super easy as it is part of the top and you just hem to finish.  I opted for the scoop neck finish for the front, although, as the dress will fit both ways, I can always have the crew in the front and the scoop in the back.
20160625_185548 - Copy

I don’t have any of the official family photos that were taken but here is one of me and my hubby.
20160702_171346 - Copy

I didn’t hem the bottom but you can’t really tell since I just folded it under.  The dress is very comfortable and bright, thanks to my choice of colors.  The pattern was written well and the pieces came together very quickly.  There is also an option for the dress to be a two piece with the top being a crop top.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Senna Dress

  1. Love the coordinating. Nice job on the dress!

Leave a Reply

